RPN Singh Joins BJP Ahead Of UP Election

Another Senior Congress Exit: RPN Singh Joins BJP Ahead Of UP Election

UP Election 2022: RPN Singh is the second major exit for the Congress in Uttar Pradesh after Jitin Prasada, a minister in the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government.

Lucknow and New Delhi RPN Singh, one of the Congress party’s most prominent leaders in Uttar Pradesh, resigned today and joined the BJP ahead of the state election next month. He is expected to run in the UP elections from his home constituency of Padrauna, where he has been elected MLA three times.

Also Read: Coronavirus LIVE Updates: Delhi also reported 5,760 new coronavirus cases on Monday.

RPN Singh Tweet

“I’ve been a member of one party for the past 32 years, but that party is no longer what it used to be. Today, everyone knows that if there is one party working for the people and building the nation, it is the BJP. “This afternoon, RPN Singh spoke to reporters. On stage with him was Jyotiraditya Scindia, who switched from Congress to the BJP in 2020.

Mr. Singh, a key OBC (Other Backward Class) leader from eastern Uttar Pradesh, is the second significant departure for the Congress after Jitin Prasada, who is now a minister in the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government in the state.

Mr. Singh was named yesterday to the Congress’s top campaigners in Uttar Pradesh. However, he had reportedly been dissatisfied with the party and felt marginalized in the UP campaign led by Priyanka Gandhi Vadra.

As news of his switch spread, the Congress quoted Priyanka Gandhi saying that the “battle that the Congress party is fighting can only be fought with bravery” and that “cowards cannot fight it.”

RPN Singh joins BJP

The former Union Minister is expected to run in the UP elections against Swami Prasad Maurya, who recently defected from the BJP and joined the Samajwadi Party. Mr. Singh is expected to fill the void left by Mr. Maurya, who led a mini-exodus of backward caste leaders in Uttar Pradesh.

Mr. Singh was elected as a member of the Kushinagar Legislative Assembly in 2009, but he was defeated in 2014. Swami Prasad Maurya has won the Padrauna seat in the last two state elections, first as a candidate of Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and then as a candidate of the BJP. However, in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, Mr. Maurya finished second to Mr. Singh.

Mr. Singh changed his Twitter bio and dropped his Congress credentials this morning before tweeting his resignation letter to Sonia Gandhi and announcing a “new beginning” led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president JP Nadda, and Home Minister Amit Shah.

Over the last two years, Congress has lost several key leaders. Mr. Scindia’s surprise departure in 2020 was one of the catalysts for a significant churn in the party, prompting 23 leaders to write to Sonia Gandhi, requesting “visible and full-time” leadership and collective decision-making.

Mr. Scindia, Mr. Prasada, and Mr. Singh were all close associates of Rahul Gandhi. After months of dissatisfaction, another member of that now-depleted club, Sachin Pilot, was recently appeased with cabinet positions in Rajasthan, but many believe it is an unstable truce.

Congress leader Karti Chidambaram tweeted:

“It’s heartbreaking. It doesn’t matter how many in-charges have come and gone. He must have made his decision after much deliberation. We’re actual Congressmen, and we’ll live and die here. We believe his conclusion is incorrect, “Rajesh Thakur, president of the Jharkhand Congress, told ANI news agency.

1 thought on “RPN Singh Joins BJP Ahead Of UP Election”

Leave a Comment